Jan
26
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
Jan 26 @ 10:00 am – 3:30 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Feb
9
Sat
2019 New Mexico State Championship NASP Tournament @ Albuquerque Convention Center
Feb 9 @ 8:00 am
Feb
15
Fri
Outdoor Adventures Hunting & Fishing Show 2019 – Day 1 @ Manuel Lujan Bldg, Expo NM
Feb 15 @ 12:00 pm – 6:00 pm

Event Dates Announced:
Day 1: Feb 15 @ 12:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Day 2: Feb 16 @ 9:00 am – 6:00 pm
Day 3: Feb 17 @ 10:00 am – 5:00 pm

Free admission for licensed New Mexico hunters and anglers. Youths 17 and younger free. Non-licensed adults $3.00.

  • Hands-on demonstrations of the latest equipment for hunting, fishing and outdoor recreation.
  • Free fishing derby held daily.
  • Sportsman’s Warehouse Outdoor Skills Room with fly-casting and fishing instruction, archery, pellet gun and OHV simulator.
  • Latest OHVs, RVs, Boats, Kayaks on display by local dealers.
  • Conservation organizations, outfitters and guides available to answer questions.

Outdoor Adventures Poster 2019

Feb
16
Sat
Outdoor Adventures Hunting & Fishing Show 2019 – Day 2 @ Manuel Lujan Bldg, Expo NM
Feb 16 @ 9:00 am – 6:00 pm

Event Dates Announced:
Day 1: Feb 15 @ 12:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Day 2: Feb 16 @ 9:00 am – 6:00 pm
Day 3: Feb 17 @ 10:00 am – 5:00 pm

Free admission for licensed New Mexico hunters and anglers. Youths 17 and younger free. Non-licensed adults $3.00.

  • Hands-on demonstrations of the latest equipment for hunting, fishing and outdoor recreation.
  • Free fishing derby held daily.
  • Sportsman’s Warehouse Outdoor Skills Room with fly-casting and fishing instruction, archery, pellet gun and OHV simulator.
  • Latest OHVs, RVs, Boats, Kayaks on display by local dealers.
  • Conservation organizations, outfitters and guides available to answer questions.

Outdoor Adventures Poster 2019

2019 NM Governor’s Special Hunt Auction & Banquet @ Expo NM Creative Arts Center
Feb 16 @ 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm

2019 NM Governor’s Special Hunt Auction & Banquet

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish has partnered with the New Mexico Wildlife Federation to host the 2019 Governor’s Special Hunt Auction and Banquet.

Once again, the department will auction over a dozen premier hunting and fishing packages to benefit the Game Protection Fund of New Mexico. The event starts at 5 p.m. at the Creative Arts Building at Expo New Mexico, on the State Fair Grounds at 300 San Pedro Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM 87108.

Don’t miss your opportunity to bid on one of many spectacular hunts, including elk, ibex, Oryx, mule deer, Coues deer, pronghorn, turkey, upland game hunting and premier fishing excursions.

Keynote speaker at the event will be Ryan Callaghan of Bozeman, Mont. Callaghan is a frequent contributor to the popular Netflix hunting show “MeatEater.”

There will be many other items in the auction including raffles and games. Proceeds benefit the New Mexico Wildlife Federation. Tickets for the event are $500 for a reserved table for 10, $110 per couple and $60 for a single.

To purchase tickets, visit online, https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2019-governors-special-hunt-auction-banquet-tickets-54554142910.

For more information, please contact the New Mexico Wildlife Federation, (505) 299-5405 or call the department toll-free, (888) 248-6866.

Icon of 2019 Governors Special Hunt Auction & Banquet Flier 2019 Governors Special Hunt Auction & Banquet Flier
Feb
17
Sun
Outdoor Adventures Hunting & Fishing Show 2019 – Day 3 @ Manuel Lujan Bldg, Expo NM
Feb 17 @ 10:00 am – 5:00 pm

Event Dates Announced:
Day 1: Feb 15 @ 12:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Day 2: Feb 16 @ 9:00 am – 6:00 pm
Day 3: Feb 17 @ 10:00 am – 5:00 pm

Free admission for licensed New Mexico hunters and anglers. Youths 17 and younger free. Non-licensed adults $3.00.

  • Hands-on demonstrations of the latest equipment for hunting, fishing and outdoor recreation.
  • Free fishing derby held daily.
  • Sportsman’s Warehouse Outdoor Skills Room with fly-casting and fishing instruction, archery, pellet gun and OHV simulator.
  • Latest OHVs, RVs, Boats, Kayaks on display by local dealers.
  • Conservation organizations, outfitters and guides available to answer questions.

Outdoor Adventures Poster 2019

Feb
23
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
Feb 23 @ 10:00 am – 3:30 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Mar
14
Thu
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
Mar 14 @ 10:00 am – 3:30 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Mar
30
Sat
Mesilla Valley Fly Fishers 24th Annual Kids Fishing Clinic @ Alumni Pond
Mar 30 @ 9:00 am – 2:00 pm

Learn to cast, tie knots, bait a hook… all the beginner basics.
No equipment or experience needed.
Fishing equipment loaned free of charge.
No license needed for attendees under 12.
Raffle prizes will be awarded and free pizza at lunch.

Apr
6
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
Apr 6 @ 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Apr
10
Wed
Public Meeting, Migratory Game Bird Rule @ NMDGF Albuquerque
Apr 10 @ 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

The Department of Game and Fish is seeking public comment on proposed revisions to the Migratory Game Bird rule. The Department is proposing small changes in migratory game bird hunting, including incorporating Federal recommendations on migratory bird seasons and adjusting season dates for calendar dates.

The proposals will be available on the Department’s website, Proposals Under Consideration page, in early April prior to the public meetings.

Apr
11
Thu
Public Meeting, Migratory Game Bird Rule @ Farmington Civic Center
Apr 11 @ 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

The Department of Game and Fish is seeking public comment on proposed revisions to the Migratory Game Bird rule. The Department is proposing small changes in migratory game bird hunting, including incorporating Federal recommendations on migratory bird seasons and adjusting season dates for calendar dates.

The proposals will be available on the Department’s website, Proposals Under Consideration page, in early April prior to the public meetings.

Apr
12
Fri
2019 Gila Youth Camp: Turkey
Apr 12 – Apr 14 all-day
Public Meeting, Migratory Game Bird Rule @ NMDGF Las Cruces
Apr 12 @ 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

The Department of Game and Fish is seeking public comment on proposed revisions to the Migratory Game Bird rule. The Department is proposing small changes in migratory game bird hunting, including incorporating Federal recommendations on migratory bird seasons and adjusting season dates for calendar dates.

The proposals will be available on the Department’s website, Proposals Under Consideration page, in early April prior to the public meetings.

Apr
15
Mon
Citizen Advisory Committee, Habitat Stamp projects @ BLM, Farmington Field Office
Apr 15 @ 12:30 pm

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish has scheduled statewide Habitat Stamp Program Citizens Advisory Committee meetings for 2019. Citizen advisors will prioritize Habitat Stamp-funded projects for 2020 and 2021. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend: see Citizen Advisory Committees to meet to recommend Habitat Stamp projects.

Apr
17
Wed
Citizen Advisory Committee, Habitat Stamp projects @ NMDGF Northwest Area Office
Apr 17 @ 9:30 am

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish has scheduled statewide Habitat Stamp Program Citizens Advisory Committee meetings for 2019. Citizen advisors will prioritize Habitat Stamp-funded projects for 2020 and 2021. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend: see Citizen Advisory Committees to meet to recommend Habitat Stamp projects.

Apr
19
Fri
Citizen Advisory Committee, Habitat Stamp projects @ Santa Fe National Forest, Supervisor’s Office
Apr 19 @ 9:30 am

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish has scheduled statewide Habitat Stamp Program Citizens Advisory Committee meetings for 2019. Citizen advisors will prioritize Habitat Stamp-funded projects for 2020 and 2021. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend: see Citizen Advisory Committees to meet to recommend Habitat Stamp projects.

Apr
22
Mon
Citizen Advisory Committee, Habitat Stamp projects @ Gila National Forest, Supervisor’s Office
Apr 22 @ 9:30 am

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish has scheduled statewide Habitat Stamp Program Citizens Advisory Committee meetings for 2019. Citizen advisors will prioritize Habitat Stamp-funded projects for 2020 and 2021. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend: see Citizen Advisory Committees to meet to recommend Habitat Stamp projects.

May
2
Thu
Citizen Advisory Committee, Habitat Stamp projects @ BLM, Roswell Field Office
May 2 @ 9:30 am

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish has scheduled statewide Habitat Stamp Program Citizens Advisory Committee meetings for 2019. Citizen advisors will prioritize Habitat Stamp-funded projects for 2020 and 2021. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend: see Citizen Advisory Committees to meet to recommend Habitat Stamp projects.

May
4
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
May 4 @ 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

May
18
Sat
OHV Safety Class Schedule
May 18 – Jul 13 all-day

Check the Off-Highway Vehicle Calendar for new & updated available class dates.

May
24
Fri
Hunter Education Course Schedule
May 24 – Oct 27 all-day

Check the Hunter Education Course Schedule for new & updated class dates for Hunter Education, Field Day/Live Fire, and Bowhunter Education.  We also offer online course options for New Mexico residents 11 years of age or older.

Jun
5
Wed
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ ABQ Shooting Range Park
Jun 5 @ 10:00 am – 3:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Jun
8
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
Jun 8 @ 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.