Feb
16
Sat
2019 NM Governor’s Special Hunt Auction & Banquet @ Expo NM Creative Arts Center
Feb 16 @ 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm

2019 NM Governor’s Special Hunt Auction & Banquet

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish has partnered with the New Mexico Wildlife Federation to host the 2019 Governor’s Special Hunt Auction and Banquet.

Once again, the department will auction over a dozen premier hunting and fishing packages to benefit the Game Protection Fund of New Mexico. The event starts at 5 p.m. at the Creative Arts Building at Expo New Mexico, on the State Fair Grounds at 300 San Pedro Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM 87108.

Don’t miss your opportunity to bid on one of many spectacular hunts, including elk, ibex, Oryx, mule deer, Coues deer, pronghorn, turkey, upland game hunting and premier fishing excursions.

Keynote speaker at the event will be Ryan Callaghan of Bozeman, Mont. Callaghan is a frequent contributor to the popular Netflix hunting show “MeatEater.”

There will be many other items in the auction including raffles and games. Proceeds benefit the New Mexico Wildlife Federation. Tickets for the event are $500 for a reserved table for 10, $110 per couple and $60 for a single.

To purchase tickets, visit online, https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2019-governors-special-hunt-auction-banquet-tickets-54554142910.

For more information, please contact the New Mexico Wildlife Federation, (505) 299-5405 or call the department toll-free, (888) 248-6866.

Oct
30
Wed
Public Meeting, Furbearer Rule @ NMDGF Albuquerque
Oct 30 @ 6:00 pm – 7:30 pm

The Department of Game and Fish is seeking public comment on proposed revisions to the furbearer rule.

See also Furbearer rule changes topic of public meetings and the Proposals Under Consideration page.

Dec
14
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ ABQ Shooting Range Park
Dec 14 @ 9:30 am – 3:30 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Dec
15
Sun
OHV Safety Class: Off-highway Motorcycle @ ABQ Shooting Range Park
Dec 15 @ 9:30 am – 4:30 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Jan
15
Wed
City of Santa Fe Health Fair @ Santa Fe Community Convention Center
Jan 15 @ 9:00 am – 2:00 pm

City of Santa Fe is hosting its annual City Health Fair. NMDGF will be present to talk to participants about getting active outdoors and participating in hunting and fishing.

Jan
16
Thu
OHV Safety Training School Presentation @ David Skeet Elementary School, Gallup
Jan 16 all-day

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is providing an Off-Highway Vehicle safety training presentation to public schools in New Mexico utilizing the robotic Safety Sam/Sara.

The presentation will be held during the normal school session and is closed to the public. The training is free of charge to the school.

Jan
17
Fri
OHV Safety Training School Presentation @ Cottonwood Valley Charter School, Socorro
Jan 17 all-day

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is providing an Off-Highway Vehicle safety training presentation to public schools in New Mexico utilizing the robotic Safety Sam/Sara.

The presentation will be held during the normal school session and is closed to the public. The training is free of charge to the school.

Jan
25
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
Jan 25 @ 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Jan
28
Tue
OHV Safety Training School Presentation @ Arroyos Del Norte Elementary School, Taos
Jan 28 all-day

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is providing an Off-Highway Vehicle safety training presentation to public schools in New Mexico utilizing the robotic Safety Sam/Sara.

The presentation will be held during the normal school session and is closed to the public. The training is free of charge to the school.

Jan
30
Thu
OHV Safety Training School Presentation @ Sunrise Elementary
Jan 30 all-day

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is providing an Off-Highway Vehicle safety training presentation to public schools in New Mexico utilizing the robotic Safety Sam/Sara. The presentation will be held during the normal school session and is closed to the public. The training is free of charge to the school.

Feb
7
Fri
Off-Highway Vehicle Law Enforcement Training @ State Police Law Enforcement Academy
Feb 7 all-day

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is providing an Off-Highway Vehicle Law Enforcement training to the New Mexico State Police Law Enforcement Academy. The training will be given to their law enforcement recruits during the normal academy training session and is closed to the public. The training is free of charge to the academy.

Feb
12
Wed
Deadline: 2020 Bear & Turkey Draw Permit Application
Feb 12 @ 5:00 pm

Deadline to apply for bear and turkey draw permits. Applications must be completed before 5 p.m. Mountain Standard Time (MST). See 2020-21 New Mexico Hunting Rules & Info.

Feb
14
Fri
Outdoor Adventures Hunting & Fishing Show 2020 – Day 1 @ Manuel Lujan Bldg, Expo NM
Feb 14 @ 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm

2020 Event Dates Announced:
Day 1: Feb 14 @ 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Day 2: Feb 15 @ 9:00 am – 6:00 pm
Day 3: Feb 16 @ 10:00 am – 4:00 pm

Admission to the show will be $3 for adults or free to youth under the age of 18 or anyone who hold a valid hunting, fishing or furbearer license.

  • Latest OHVs, RVs, Boats, Kayaks on display by local dealers.
  • Conservation organizations, outfitters and guides available to answer questions.
  • Free fishing derby
  • 0 mile Trout run to support OGT and SHARE
  • Rock Climbing Wall
Feb
15
Sat
Deadline: 2019–2020 Harvest Reports
Feb 15 all-day

Deadline to submit 2019–20 harvest reports for deer, elk, pronghorn and turkey license holders. Reports can be submitted online or by telephone. Late fees apply after this date.

Outdoor Adventures Hunting & Fishing Show 2020 – Day 2 @ Manuel Lujan Bldg, Expo NM
Feb 15 @ 9:00 am – 6:00 pm

2020 Event Dates Announced:
Day 1: Feb 14 @ 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Day 2: Feb 15 @ 9:00 am – 6:00 pm
Day 3: Feb 16 @ 10:00 am – 4:00 pm

Admission to the show will be $3 for adults or free to youth under the age of 18 or anyone who hold a valid hunting, fishing or furbearer license.

  • Latest OHVs, RVs, Boats, Kayaks on display by local dealers.
  • Conservation organizations, outfitters and guides available to answer questions.
  • Free fishing derby
  • 0 mile Trout run to support OGT and SHARE
  • Rock Climbing Wall
Feb
16
Sun
Outdoor Adventures Hunting & Fishing Show 2020 – Day 3 @ Manuel Lujan Bldg, Expo NM
Feb 16 @ 10:00 am – 5:00 pm

2020 Event Dates Announced:
Day 1: Feb 14 @ 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Day 2: Feb 15 @ 9:00 am – 6:00 pm
Day 3: Feb 16 @ 10:00 am – 4:00 pm

Admission to the show will be $3 for adults or free to youth under the age of 18 or anyone who hold a valid hunting, fishing or furbearer license.

  • Latest OHVs, RVs, Boats, Kayaks on display by local dealers.
  • Conservation organizations, outfitters and guides available to answer questions.
  • Free fishing derby
  • 0 mile Trout run to support OGT and SHARE
  • Rock Climbing Wall
Feb
26
Wed
Results: 2020 Bear & Turkey Draw Permits
Feb 26 @ 10:00 am

Results for 2020 bear and turkey draw permits available online and telephone and at NMDGF offices. Permits can be printed on standard paper after the appropriate license(s) are purchased. Carcass tag required.

Feb
29
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
Feb 29 @ 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Mar
18
Wed
Deadline: 2019–2020 Late Harvest Reports
Mar 18 all-day

Deadline to submit late 2019–20 harvest reports for deer, elk, pronghorn antelope and turkey. All 2019–20 license holders must report to be eligible for 2020–21 draw licenses. Reports can be submitted online or by telephone. See 2020-21 New Mexico Hunting Rules & Info Book.

Failure to report for these species by this date will result in rejection of all draw applications. An $8 late fee applies after February 15, 2020. Remember to keep your confirmation number.

Deadline: 2020 Big-Game Draw Application
Mar 18 @ 5:00 pm

Deadline to apply for 2020 Draw Licenses for Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelinapronghorn and oryx, and to apply for Private-land Only Deer License for Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A. Applications must be completed before 5 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time (MDT). See 2020-21 New Mexico Hunting Rules & Info

Mar
22
Sun
OHV Safety Class: Off-Highway Motorcycle @ ABQ Shooting Range Park
Mar 22 @ 9:30 am – 4:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Mar
23
Mon
2020–21 Over-the-Counter License Types Available
Mar 23 all-day

2020–21 over-the-counter (OTC) license types, including game-hunting licenses and game-hunting & fishing licenses, are available online, by telephone and at NMDGF offices and license vendors.

Mar
28
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
Mar 28 @ 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Mar
31
Tue
OHV Safety Training School Presentation @ SIPI
Mar 31 all-day

The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish will offer an all terrain vehicle (ATV) safety training to the Todd Nims’ Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute (SIPI) class. This is a free training and is closed to the public. The training will be held at the City of Albuquerque Shooting Range; training machines and safety gear are available. Each student must bring weather appropriate clothing (gloves, boots, long pants and long sleeved shirt), a snack or lunch, water and sunscreen.