Deadline to apply for 2019 Draw Licenses for Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, pronghorn and oryx, and to apply for Private-land Only Deer License for Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A. Applications must be completed before 5 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time (MDT). See 2019-20 New Mexico Hunting Rules & Info.
Failure to report for these species by this date will result in rejection of all draw applications. An $8 late fee applies after February 15, 2019. Remember to keep your confirmation number.
2019–20 License Year begins. 2018–19 licenses no longer valid.
Deadline to submit 2018–19 harvest reports for Barbary sheep, ibex, javelina, oryx and trapping license holders to be eligible for big-game licenses. Results can be reported online or by telephone.
Failure to report for these species by this date will result in rejection of all applications. An $8 late fee applies after April 7, 2019. Remember to keep your confirmation number.
All students must pre-register prior to class.
Click OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.
Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).
New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.
Join the Sandia Mountain Bear Collaborative for this festive event which will feature lectures on living with Bears, and Bear behavior. Children’s events and booths about wildlife from local organizations will be there!
The Department of Game and Fish Off-Highway Vehicle Program will provide an all terrain vehicle (ATV) safety training. Due to the limitations of access to the air force base, this training is provided only to the public that has official access to the base and is on a first-come first-served basis. Students must be at least six years old. Training machines and safety gear are available. Parents must remain on-site during training. Each student should bring weather appropriate clothing (gloves, boots, long pants and long sleeved shirt), a snack or lunch, water and sunscreen.
Students, of any age, must have a Customer Identification Number (CIN) with the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish. All students must preregister to reserve a place in the class. To preregister, or to get more information, please visit www.B4Uride.com or call Christopher Johnson.