Mar
20
Wed
Deadline: 2019 Big-Game Draw Application
Mar 20 @ 5:00 pm

Deadline to apply for 2019 Draw Licenses for Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelinapronghorn and oryx, and to apply for Private-land Only Deer License for Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A. Applications must be completed before 5 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time (MDT). See 2019-20 New Mexico Hunting Rules & Info.

Failure to report for these species by this date will result in rejection of all draw applications. An $8 late fee applies after February 15, 2019. Remember to keep your confirmation number.

Mar
25
Mon
2019–20 Over-the-Counter License Types Available
Mar 25 all-day

All 2019–20 over-the-counter (OTC) license types, including Game-hunting Licenses and Game-hunting & Fishing Licenses, are available online, by telephone (Game & Fish Information Center at 888-248-6866 Monday- Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm), or at NMDGF offices and license vendors.

Apr
1
Mon
2019-20 License Year Begins
Apr 1 all-day

2019–20 License Year begins. 2018–19 licenses no longer valid.

Apr
7
Sun
Deadline: 2018-19 Harvest Report (Avoid Application Rejection)
Apr 7 all-day

Deadline to submit 2018–19 harvest reports for Barbary sheep, ibex, javelina, oryx and trapping license holders to be eligible for big-game licenses. Results can be reported online or by telephone.

Failure to report for these species by this date will result in rejection of all applications. An $8 late fee applies after April 7, 2019. Remember to keep your confirmation number.

Apr
17
Wed
Results: Updated – 2019 Big Game Draw License
Apr 17 all-day

Update! Hunters who applied for New Mexico big-game licenses will know their draw results early again this spring. Big-game Draw License results available online, by telephone  (Game & Fish Information Center at 888-248-6866 Monday- Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm), or at NMDGF offices.

Jun
1
Sat
Free Fishing Day 2019
Jun 1 all-day

Anglers can fish for free in New Mexico on Saturday, June 1, as the state celebrates National Boating and Fishing Week.

Anyone can fish for free in public fishing waters throughout the state Saturday, June 1, but everyone must observe bag limits and all other rules and regulations. For more information, please visit www.wildlife.state.nm.us.

For information about where to fish and what to use, consult the department’s weekly fishing and stocking report. Maps of public fishing waters, lists of where to find family-friendly fishing and tips on how to fish also can be found on the department website.

Jun
5
Wed
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ ABQ Shooting Range Park
Jun 5 @ 10:00 am – 3:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.

Jun
8
Sat
OHV Safety Class: ATV @ Los Lunas River Park
Jun 8 @ 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

All students must pre-register prior to class.

Click Icon of OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions OHV Safety Class Pre-registration Instructions  for instructions to pre-register for a hands-on class.

Online training is also available that provides the required safety permit after completion (see Safety and Training: Online Training tab).

New Mexico law requires anyone younger than 18 to obtain a safety permit prior to operating an OHV on public lands. The Department offers free hands-on ATV or off-highway motorcycle (OHM) training that provides a safety permit after completion. Students must use a properly registered OHV and all necessary safety equipment. Training machines and safety equipment (helmets, eye protection, boots, and gloves) are available to pre-registered students by reservation.