Hunting News

Hunting News2018-01-16T11:02:29+00:00

Hunting News

The latest hunting news and press releases, including important reminders for the 2018-2019 hunting season, from the New Mexico Department of Game & Fish. See additional wildlife news in Conservation News. Department-wide news can be found under Home → NMDGF News.

 

Carcass and Antler/Horn Tags Required

A separate carcass tag and antler/horn tag (if applicable) now is required for all big-game and turkey hunts.

  • A tag is required for all big-game and turkey hunts, in addition to the printed license. DO NOT HUNT WITHOUT A VALID TAG!  
  • Tags will be mailed to all successful draw hunt applicants and are available at all license vendors and NMDGF offices for over-the-counter (OTC) licenses. A tag will be provided at the time an over-the-counter license is purchased.
  • Telephone or online purchases for javelina and private-land deer, elk, antelope, Barbary sheep and oryx licenses must be made at least 14 days prior to the start of the hunt to allow time to mail the tag(s). Tag(s) will be mailed to the address provided by the customer. Customers may obtain a duplicate tag in person at any license vendor or NMDGF office. If a duplicate tag is obtained, the original tag number will be invalidated, and the license must be reprinted. It is illegal to use an invalidated tag.
  • See pages 20–21 for more information about and instructions for tagging.

Private-land Elk and Antelope Licenses at Vendors

Private-land elk and pronghorn antelope licenses and tags are now available at license vendors in addition to NMDGF offices (pages 66 and 88).

Early Purchase Available for 2018–19 Licenses

Licenses for the 2018–2019 license year that begins April 1, will be available online, by telephone and at license vendors and NMDGF offices beginning March 22.

Donate an Unused License

A license may be donated to NMDGF for transfer to a youth (17 years of age or younger), a resident veteran or a resident first responder who has been qualified through a nonprofit organization that promotes hunting (page 14).

New Criminal Penalty for Felony Waste of Game

Upon conviction, a person may be sentenced to $5,000 and 18 months in prison. Convicted felons cannot possess a firearm, may not vote and are ineligible to become outfitters or guides (page 19).

Outfitters and Guides: New Rule Effective January 1, 2018

Outfitters and guides can review the new rule at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us/enforcement/guide-and-outfitter-info. For general information about outfitters, guides and outfitted hunts see page 41.

Free Mobile App Available

A free mobile app is available from the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish. Powered by Pocket Ranger®, the mobile app offers easy access to maps, fishing reports, license purchases, rules and regulations, Operation Game Thief and “New Mexico Wildlife” magazine (page 143).

 

 

Reference (2018-19 NM Hunting Rules & Info pg. 2)

 

Purchase Licenses, Apply for Draws and Submit Harvests

Apply for draw hunts, submit harvest reports and purchase licenses online, by telephone or at New Mexico Department of Game and Fish (NMDGF) offices. (page v).

Game-hunting licenses and stamps for the 2018–2019 season are unavailable through license sales and only may be purchased through the draw application process before March 22.

Licenses and permits can be printed on standard paper, but all big-game and turkey hunters must obtain a tag(s) from the department or a license vendor prior to hunting.

Mandatory Harvest Reporting. Don’t Forget!

Whether or not a hunt or harvest occurred, harvest reporting is mandatory for all Barbary sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, oryx, pronghorn antelope, turkey and trapper license holders. Deadlines
for species are listed on pages 4–5 and 22.

Information Center Extended Hours

The NMDGF Information Center is open year-round, Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.–5 p.m. (except holidays) to answer your questions and assist with license issues and harvest reporting.

Extended hours are March 10–March 20, Monday–Friday from 8 a.m.–8 p.m. and Saturdays
from noon–5 p.m. The Information Center will close at 4:30 p.m. on March 21.

On March 31 and April 1 the Information Center will be open from 8 a.m.–1 p.m. for 2018-19 season licenses.

Premium Statewide Deer and Elk Draw Hunts

Statewide memorial hunts now available by draw for deer and elk. See pages 44, 49 and 72.

Mexican Gray Wolf: Encounters and Identification

Know where wolf encounters may occur and how to distinguish the Mexican Gray Wolf from coyotes (pages 129 and 130).

50% Discounts for Resident Military and Veterans

licenses, permits and stamps. See pages 13, 137 and 140 for eligibility requirements and details.

Online Hunter Education Course (Residents only)

New Mexico residents 11 years of age or older can earn a New Mexico hunter education
number online (page 26).

 

Reference (2018-19 NM Hunting Rules & Info pg. 3)

 

Special hunter education camp offered at Camp Thunderbird near Mimbres

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact: Jennifer Morgan, (505) 222-4722 jennifer.morgan@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, APRIL 11, 2018: Special hunter education camp offered at Camp Thunderbird near Mimbres MIMBRES – The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is offering a special hunter education camp where youths can receive hands-on training and earn their hunter education certification. The camp is open to youths ages 11 and over who are accompanied by an adult. It will be conducted the weekend of May 18-20, at the beautiful Camp Thunderbird in the Gila National Forest. Lodging and meals are free and all equipment is provided. Registration for this camp opportunity opens April 16. Participants must complete and return the registration form available at www.wildlife.state.nm.us/education/hunter-education/ by 12 p.m., April 30, to be eligible. Slots will be filled on a first-come, first-serve basis. Participants will learn safe Read more...

Expect roadblocks statewide during hunting and fishing seasons

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Media contact: Ross Morgan, (505) 222-4707 Public contact: (888)-248-6866 ross.morgan@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, APRIL 9, 2018: Expect roadblocks statewide during hunting and fishing seasons SANTA FE – The Department of Game and Fish will conduct roadblocks throughout the state during hunting and fishing seasons to collect harvest data and to detect wildlife law violations. The 2018-2019 hunting and fishing season began April 1. All hunters and anglers are required to purchase a new license before hunting and fishing. Anglers can expect roadblocks throughout the summer. Guides and outfitters are also reminded that new registration is required. Youth turkey season begins April 6 and the general season begins April 15. Trapping and hunting season continues for raccoons April 1 to May 15 and April 1-30 for beaver, muskrat and nutria. Year-round cougar, Barbary sheep, off-range oryx and off-mountain ibex seasons run from April 1, Read more...

Special hunter education camp offered at Gorham Scout Ranch near Chimayo

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact, Jennifer Morgan: (505) 222-4722 jennifer.morgan@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, MARCH 29, 2018: Special hunter education camp offered at Gorham Scout Ranch near Chimayo CHIMAYO – The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is offering a special hunter education camp where youths can receive hands-on training and earn their hunter education certification. The camp is open to youths ages 11 to 17 who are accompanied by a responsible adult. It will be conducted the weekend of May 4-6, 2018 at the Gorham Scout Ranch near Chimayo. Lodging and meals are free and all equipment is provided. Registration for this camp opportunity opens April 2. Those interested in attending must complete and return the registration form available at www.wildlife.state.nm.us/education/hunter-education/ by 12p.m. April 16, to be eligible. Slots will be filled on a first-come, first-serve basis. The department Read more...

Anglers, hunters can purchase 2018-19 licenses early this year

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact: (888) 248-6866 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, MARCH 22, 2018: Anglers, hunters can purchase 2018-19 licenses early this year SANTA FE – Sales of "over-the-counter" fishing and hunting licenses for the 2018-19 license year opened today, giving anglers and hunters an opportunity to have licenses in-hand when the new license year begins April 1. The Department of Game and Fish previously began issuing "over-the-counter" licenses March 31. Licenses are available for purchase by telephone, (888) 248-6866, and at department offices and license vendors. Anglers will need a 2018-19 fishing license beginning April 1. The first hunting seasons of 2018 will be for spring turkeys. Those seasons are April 6-8 for youth-only hunts, and April 15-May 10 for everyone. More information about license fees, required stamps, season dates and other rules is available at www.wildlife.state.nm.us or toll-free, (888) 248-6866. ###

Deadline is Wednesday to apply for big-game hunting licenses

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact: (888) 248-6866 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, MARCH 19, 2018: Deadline is Wednesday to apply for big-game hunting licenses SANTA FE – The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is reminding hunters that Wednesday, March 21, is the deadline to apply for deer, elk, pronghorn antelope, oryx, ibex, bighorn sheep, javelina and Barbary sheep licenses. The department expects more than 160,000 applicants for about 60,000 licenses. Hunters must complete their applications before 5 p.m. MDT March 21. All applicants must create an online account at onlinesales.wildlife.state.nm.us prior to applying. Here’s how to apply: Online: Applicants can access or create accounts via the “Customer Login” link on the department website, www.wildlife.state.nm.us. From their account, applicants will select “Draw Hunt Applications” in the main menu and then will be prompted through license and application choices. By phone: Hunters without computer access or who need Read more...

Load More Posts