Hunting News

Hunting News 2018-01-16T11:02:29+00:00

Hunting News

The latest hunting news and press releases, including important reminders for the 2018-2019 hunting season, from the New Mexico Department of Game & Fish. See additional wildlife news in Conservation News. Department-wide news can be found under Home → NMDGF News.

 

Carcass and Antler/Horn Tags Required

A separate carcass tag and antler/horn tag (if applicable) now is required for all big-game and turkey hunts.

  • A tag is required for all big-game and turkey hunts, in addition to the printed license. DO NOT HUNT WITHOUT A VALID TAG!  
  • Tags will be mailed to all successful draw hunt applicants and are available at all license vendors and NMDGF offices for over-the-counter (OTC) licenses. A tag will be provided at the time an over-the-counter license is purchased.
  • Telephone or online purchases for javelina and private-land deer, elk, antelope, Barbary sheep and oryx licenses must be made at least 14 days prior to the start of the hunt to allow time to mail the tag(s). Tag(s) will be mailed to the address provided by the customer. Customers may obtain a duplicate tag in person at any license vendor or NMDGF office. If a duplicate tag is obtained, the original tag number will be invalidated, and the license must be reprinted. It is illegal to use an invalidated tag.
  • See pages 20–21 for more information about and instructions for tagging.

Private-land Elk and Antelope Licenses at Vendors

Private-land elk and pronghorn antelope licenses and tags are now available at license vendors in addition to NMDGF offices (pages 66 and 88).

Early Purchase Available for 2018–19 Licenses

Licenses for the 2018–2019 license year that begins April 1, will be available online, by telephone and at license vendors and NMDGF offices beginning March 22.

Donate an Unused License

A license may be donated to NMDGF for transfer to a youth (17 years of age or younger), a resident veteran or a resident first responder who has been qualified through a nonprofit organization that promotes hunting (page 14).

New Criminal Penalty for Felony Waste of Game

Upon conviction, a person may be sentenced to $5,000 and 18 months in prison. Convicted felons cannot possess a firearm, may not vote and are ineligible to become outfitters or guides (page 19).

Outfitters and Guides: New Rule Effective January 1, 2018

Outfitters and guides can review the new rule at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us/enforcement/guide-and-outfitter-info. For general information about outfitters, guides and outfitted hunts see page 41.

Free Mobile App Available

A free mobile app is available from the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish. Powered by Pocket Ranger®, the mobile app offers easy access to maps, fishing reports, license purchases, rules and regulations, Operation Game Thief and “New Mexico Wildlife” magazine (page 143).

 

 

Reference (2018-19 NM Hunting Rules & Info pg. 2)

 

Purchase Licenses, Apply for Draws and Submit Harvests

Apply for draw hunts, submit harvest reports and purchase licenses online, by telephone or at New Mexico Department of Game and Fish (NMDGF) offices. (page v).

Game-hunting licenses and stamps for the 2018–2019 season are unavailable through license sales and only may be purchased through the draw application process before March 22.

Licenses and permits can be printed on standard paper, but all big-game and turkey hunters must obtain a tag(s) from the department or a license vendor prior to hunting.

Mandatory Harvest Reporting. Don’t Forget!

Whether or not a hunt or harvest occurred, harvest reporting is mandatory for all Barbary sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, oryx, pronghorn antelope, turkey and trapper license holders. Deadlines
for species are listed on pages 4–5 and 22.

Information Center Extended Hours

The NMDGF Information Center is open year-round, Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.–5 p.m. (except holidays) to answer your questions and assist with license issues and harvest reporting.

Extended hours are March 10–March 20, Monday–Friday from 8 a.m.–8 p.m. and Saturdays
from noon–5 p.m. The Information Center will close at 4:30 p.m. on March 21.

On March 31 and April 1 the Information Center will be open from 8 a.m.–1 p.m. for 2018-19 season licenses.

Premium Statewide Deer and Elk Draw Hunts

Statewide memorial hunts now available by draw for deer and elk. See pages 44, 49 and 72.

Mexican Gray Wolf: Encounters and Identification

Know where wolf encounters may occur and how to distinguish the Mexican Gray Wolf from coyotes (pages 129 and 130).

50% Discounts for Resident Military and Veterans

licenses, permits and stamps. See pages 13, 137 and 140 for eligibility requirements and details.

Online Hunter Education Course (Residents only)

New Mexico residents 11 years of age or older can earn a New Mexico hunter education
number online (page 26).

 

Reference (2018-19 NM Hunting Rules & Info pg. 3)

 

Harvest reporting now just a phone call away

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact: Karl Moffatt: (505) 476-8007 karl.moffatt@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, June 30, 2017: Harvest reporting now just a phone call away SANTA FE – New Mexico hunters have a new option to submit their 2017-18 hunting season harvest reports. The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish today announced the new program which uses an interactive phone system that is accessed simply by calling the department’s information line, (888) 248-6866. The system allows hunters to file reports over the phone using their license information and following voice prompts. Customers receive a harvest report confirmation number and email message once they have answered and completed a list of questions that are used by biologists to better manage the state’s wildlife resources. “We’re always looking for ways to make our customer experience better and more convenient,” said Assistant Director Read more...

Youth encouragement elk hunting licenses for sale

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact: Karl Moffatt: (505) 476-8007 karl.moffatt@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, JUNE 20, 2017: Youth encouragement elk hunting licenses for sale SANTA FE – Almost 1,900 youth, antlerless elk licenses will go on sale through the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish’s Online License System at 10 a.m. July 5. The sale is designed to encourage youth hunting and includes almost 1,500 licenses for hunters using any legal weapon and 390 licenses for hunters using a muzzleloader or bow. Licenses will be sold online only on a first-come, first-served basis. To purchase a license, customers will need to log in to their Online License System account at www.wildlife.state.nm.us. Eligibility requirements: For the first 14 days, the sale is open only to N.M. resident youths who have applied in the current license year for one or more draw hunts Read more...

Special hunting skills camp offered at Wedding Cake Ranch near Clayton

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact: Karl Moffatt: (505) 476-8007 karl.moffatt@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, JUNE 8, 2017: Special hunting skills camp offered at Wedding Cake Ranch near Clayton CLAYTON – The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is partnering with First in the Field to offer a free hunting, fishing and outdoors skills camp where youths will receive hands-on training. The camp is open to youths ages 11 and older. The camp will be conducted June 22-25 at the Wedding Cake Ranch near Clayton. Meals and equipment are provided and participants will camp in tents at the ranch. Registration is underway. Participants must complete and return the registration form available at www.wildlife.state.nm.us/education/hunter-education/ by 5 p.m. June 17 to be eligible. Slots will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis. Participants will learn how to safely handle and fire shotguns, .22 Read more...

Special oryx hunts available for injured servicemen and women

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact: Karl Moffatt: (505) 476-8007 karl.moffatt@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, JUNE 8, 2017: Special oryx hunts available for injured servicemen and women SANTA FE -- Injured military service members can apply online beginning June 14 for an upcoming special drawing by the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish (NMDGF) to award three special oryx authorizations for hunts on White Sands Missile Range. Applicants must be active-duty or veterans of the U.S. military who have a disability rating of 50 percent or greater in accordance with U.S. Veteran’s Administration guidelines for receiving disabled veteran benefits. Significantly injured, active-duty military members also may apply and will need to submit supporting documentation to the department prior to the July 19 application deadline. Applicants (except NMDGF Disabled Veteran card holders) are required to provide proof of eligibility prior to the Read more...

Leftover deer and javelina licenses go on sale June 21

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact: Karl Moffatt: (505) 476-8007 karl.moffatt@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, June 6, 2017: Leftover deer and javelina licenses go on sale June 21 SANTA FE – Almost 350 deer hunting licenses and over 100 javelina licenses that were not allocated during the annual 2017-18 big-game drawing will go on sale at 10 a.m. MDT June 21, only on the Department of Game and Fish website. New Mexico residents will get first shot at the licenses during the first-come, first-served sale. License sales will be open only to residents for the first 24 hours. The sale will be opened to everyone, regardless of residency, at 10 a.m. June 22. Important note for youth hunters: Because these are leftover draw licenses, purchasing a leftover deer license will render youth hunters ineligible to purchase a youth encouragement elk license during Read more...

Load More Posts