New Mexico Department of Game and Fish
Media contact: Dan Williams, (505) 476-8004
Public contact: (505) 476-8000
dan.williams@state.nm.us

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, JUNE 25, 2009:

DISABLED VETERANS ELIGIBLE FOR NEW, DISCOUNTED HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSE

SANTA FE -- Starting July 1, service-connected disabled veterans who are New Mexico residents will be eligible to buy an annual combination fishing and small-game hunting license for $10. The license normally costs $33.

The special license was approved by the 2009 New Mexico Legislature and signed by Gov. Bill Richardson. It is available to any New Mexico resident service-connected disabled veteran who presents a "Veteran Administration awards letter," at a Department of Game and Fish office in Santa Fe, Albuquerque, Raton, Las Cruces or Roswell. The letter, available from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, states that a veteran has been granted a disability and that the disability was service-connected.

“This is a way for the state of New Mexico to show its appreciation for the sacrifice our service-connected disabled veterans have made for their service to our country,” said New Mexico Department of Veterans’ Services Cabinet Secretary John M. Garcia. The NMDVS has 17 offices statewide to assist veterans with filing for their service-connected disability claims.

The special license does not replace the free general hunting and fishing license currently available to resident veterans who are 100 percent disabled.

The $10 fishing and small-game license will be available July 1 and will allow the licensee to fish for all game fish and hunt for squirrel and game birds, other than wild turkey, during the open season for each species. The license will be available only at Department offices this year, but may be available by regular mail in the future.

For more information about the special disabled veterans licenses or other New Mexico hunting and fishing licenses, please call (505) 476-8000 or visit www.wildlife.state.nm.us.

###