NMDGF I&E and OHV staff will be in attendance to help answer questions from the public, inform OHV users about local laws and education programs, and provide living with wildlife/conservation education information.
This workshop is required to become a certified hunter education instructor and will certify the individual to teach both the Traditional and the Field Day Hunter Education student courses. This workshop also provides a NM Hunter Education certification to new instructors who need a required NM hunter education number. All participants must register prior to attending. Please see registration details below.
Interested applicants need to first become a certified Game and Fish volunteer. Below are the steps to become a certified volunteer:
1. Create a Customer Identification Account (CIN) with the Department at https://onlinesales.wildlife.state.nm.us/
2. Fill out a volunteer application at https://new-mexico.volunteers.kalkomey.com/
3.Once the application is approved, certified volunteers can sign-up for the hunter education workshop through their CIN account
Department staff will be making repairs to the berms and doing a general cleanup at the department’s Stephen M. Bush Shooting Range in Clayton, New Mexico. This will take place over Oct. 12-13, 2022. The range will be closed to the public on these days for staff safety.
This course is open to students of any age seeking hunter education certification to meet hunting requirements in New Mexico. This course is an instructor-led student course that incorporates lecture, video, break-out sessions, review methods and homework to educate students. Students 10 and under must have a parent/adult present with them during class. All students MUST complete the Today’s Hunter student manual homework before participating in class. Students can pick up a free hard copy manual at Gebos, 721 N Main, Lovington, NM 88260. The manual can also be downloaded for free at www.hunter-ed.com/newmexico/manual/. Students are required to turn in their completed manual worksheets upon arrival to class.
Registration opens on Sept. 26 and is conducted online through the student’s Customer ID Number (CIN) Account. Once in the account, click on Hunter Education then click the Register for Hunter Ed Classes button and follow the prompts.
The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Off-Highway Vehicle Program presents an ATV safety class at the NM Game & Fish Southeast Area Office in Roswell, N.M. Students completing the class receive the safety permit required for off-highway vehicle operators under the age of 18 years. Students under the age of 18 will also receive a free helmet and goggles. ATVs and safety gear are available for use during the class.
Students must be at least 6 years of age. Space is limited – all students must already have or must create a free account with the Department of Game and Fish (https://onlinesales.wildlife.state.nm.us/), and register prior to the class. This ensures that each student will have an age- and size-appropriate training ATV available.
Nature Niños is excited to plan a big community event at Shady Lakes this fall. Sat., Oct. 29 has been reserved as an “Intro to the Outdoors” community event at Shady Lakes. This event will be hosted from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. Light snacks and drinks will be provided, but families are encouraged to bring a picnic lunch to enjoy while out on the property. The hunter education pellet trailer will be available for families to learn about safe, ethical and responsible firearms handling and how to enroll in a hunter education course.