Draw Licenses and Fees
Click the tab headings below to learn more Draw Licenses and Fees, or return to the introduction: Applying for Big Game Hunts in New Mexico.
If you’re unable to use your big-game hunting license and don’t qualify for a refund or transfer, the license can be donated to a youth hunter, or a NM resident veteran or first responder through a Commission-approved nonprofit organization. See Hunting License Donations.
When applying for draw licenses for Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, oryx and pronghorn antelope, hunters must purchase a 2018–19 Game-hunting License or Game-hunting & Fishing License. Licenses are available online or by telephone during the draw application process (Jan. 10, 2018–March 21, 2018). Before March 22, game-hunting licenses and stamps for the 2018–2019 season may be purchased only through the draw application process. Successful applicants for draw licenses will be mailed a tag.
Application and full license fees are charged at the time the application is submitted. Unsuccessful draw applicants will receive a full refund for the draw license, minus the application fee. Unsuccessful draw applicants also may receive a full refund of the Game-hunting License fee, if requested at the time of application.
To apply for all draw permits, including bear, turkey and upland game, prior purchase of a bear, turkey or game-hunting license is not required. If the applicant is successful in the draw, purchase of a license with tag will be required after March 22.
Draw Hunt System
All draw applications are entered into an automated system that randomly assigns each application a sequence number. Based on this number and the quotas listed below, the system matches the first, second, then third choices on the application with available licenses or permits. If all choices have already been awarded, the system advances to the next application. New Mexico does not grant preference to unsuccessful applicants.
If an applicant selects a fourth-choice hunt, she/he will be placed in a second pool from which licenses or permits may be awarded if a hunt has not allocated all available licenses. Only successful applicants will be notified by email. Unsuccessful applicants will not be notified, but may check their NMDGF account online. For more information about the Draw Hunt System, visit How the Draw Works.
New Mexico state law has established the following quotas for draw hunts.
• 84% of draw licenses are awarded to New Mexico residents.
• 10% of draw licenses are awarded to residents and nonresidents applying with a New Mexico registered outfitter.
• 6% of draw licenses are awarded to nonresidents applying without a New Mexico registered outfitter.
Hunts subject to quota:
• Private-land Deer Draw Licenses in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A.
• Draw licenses for Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, oryx and pronghorn antelope.
• Draw permits for bear, turkey and upland game.
Hunts not subject to quota:
• Over-the-Counter Licenses for Barbary sheep, bear, cougar, turkey, private-land oryx, deer, ibex, javelina.
• Elk and pronghorn antelope licenses obtained via the Private Lands Use System.
• Population Management Hunts.
Table of Draw Fees
All prices listed include a nonrefundable application fee (residents: $7; nonresidents: $13).
50% Discounts for resident military and veterans apply to all draw license fees but not application fees. For Habitat Stamp and Habitat Management & Access Validation requirements (see page 10).
|Standard Elk License (Residents 18–64 years of age and all nonresidents)|
|A (Antlerless)||$60||Not Issued|
|MB (Mature Bull)||$90||$548|
|ES (Either Sex)||$90||$548|
|Quality or High Demand Elk License (pages 138, 140)|
|Junior/Senior Elk License (See Discounts & Exceptions for eligibility requirements)|
|High Demand (HD)||$41||$368|
|Pronghorn Antelope License|
|Bighorn Sheep License|
|Barbary Sheep License|
|Bear Draw Permit (draw application fee only1)||$7||$13|
|Turkey Draw Permit (draw application fee only1)||$7||$13|
|Upland Game Draw Permit (draw application fee only1)||$7||$13|
|1 Successful applicants must purchase a 2018-19 Game-hunting License or a Game-hunting & Fishing License, plus the applicable over-the-counter license, tag(s) and stamp(s) beginning March 22.|