Hunting News

Hunting News2019-12-30T11:34:51-07:00

Hunting News

The latest hunting news and press releases, including important reminders for the 2020-2021 hunting season, from the New Mexico Department of Game & Fish. See additional wildlife news in Conservation News. Department-wide news can be found under Home → NMDGF News.

 

New Office Location in Roswell

NMDGF’s Southeast Area Office is now located at 1615 West College Boulevard, Roswell, NM 88201. For directions telephone: (575) 624-6135.

New Unit-wide Ranch Mapss

Unit-wide elk hunting property maps are now available online: www.wildlife.state.nm.us/hunting/maps/

New Furbearer Rulebook

Coming in June

New Bear and Cougar Rules

(pages 108–116)

New Requirements for Military Documentation

Proof of service for all military only hunts and returning Iraq/Afghanistan veteran oryx hunts must be received by NMDGF prior to application.

New Electronic Tag (E-Tag) Option for All Big Game and Turkey

Hunters may now choose the E-Tag option when purchasing or applying for any big-game or turkey hunts. You will not receive a carcass tag if you choose this option. Hunters who choose to E-Tag will be required to download the e-tagging app on their phone, upload their license and carry their phone in the field. A printed license and/or carcass tag are not required but the animal or turkey must still be physically tagged. See page 8-9 for details.

NM E-Tag app allows hunters to tag an animal in the field using their smartphone.NM E-Tag allows hunters to tag an animal in the field using their smartphone. Upon submitting the date and time of kill for their license, the hunter will receive a tag number to hand-write on durable material to be attached to the animal.

Installation: Search for “NM E-tag” in the App Store or click the icon below:App Store Google Play

New: No Electronic Check Payments

Electronic check payments are no longer accepted. Payments may be made in person by cash or credit card, and online and by telephone by credit card only.

Mandatory Harvest Reporting

All Barbary sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, oryx, pronghorn, turkey and trapper license holders must submit a harvest report, whether they hunted or not. Deadlines for species are listed on page 6. Harvest reports may be submitted online, by telephone or in person at New Mexico Department of Game and Fish offices.

Purchase 2020 Game Hunting License through Draw Application

Draw applicants purchasing 2020 game-hunting licenses to apply for draw hunts must click “Draw Hunt Applications” in the main menu and purchase the license as part of the application process. Do not click “License Sales.”

Duplicate License Fee

A $6 duplicate license fee will be charged for all duplicate tags/licenses in accordance with New Mexico state law. This fee will only be charged when a duplicate tag is obtained requiring reprinting of the license with a new tag number. Big-game and turkey hunters are advised not to purchase their licenses online if they plan to obtain the tag(s) at a license vendor.

Draw Refunds

Draw license fee refunds for unsuccessful applicants will be processed shortly after draw results are released in April. Applications paid by credit card will be refunded directly to the credit card used for the transaction within 10 business days. Applications paid by cash will be refunded by check by the end of May. Game-hunting license and stamp purchases will not be refunded.

Early Purchase Available for 2020–21 Licenses

Licenses for the 2020–21 license year which begins April 1 will be available online, by telephone, and at license vendors and NMDGF offices beginning March 23.

Game Hunting License Options

Big-game draw applicants will be required to purchase a habitat management and access validation (HMAV) with their game-hunting or game-hunting and fishing license. Applicants will have the option to add the habitat stamp, harvest information program (HIP) number and/or second rod validation, if applicable, to their purchase. Hunters must purchase the habitat stamp prior to
May 18, 2020 to avoid having to print it separately.

Game Hunting Licenses Are Nonrefundable through the Draw Application Process

Game-hunting license and stamp purchases made through the big-game draw application are nonrefundable.

License and Tag combined if purchased online or by phone

Hunters who choose to receive a physical carcass tag may not need to carry a separate license. If purchased online or by telephone, the top section of the carcass tag will display all annual license and stamp purchases, and will serve as a valid license. Hunters must carry the license/carcass tag with them in the field while hunting (details, page 8). If you do not purchase the habitat stamp through the draw, or prior to May 18, 2020, a printed copy may be required. The combined license/tag is not available for license purchases and/or duplicate tags at over-the-counter (OTC) license vendors.

Habitat Stamp

The habitat stamp must be purchased prior to hunting, fishing or trapping on BLM and Forest Service lands. To be included in a combined license/tag, the habitat stamp must be purchased before May 18, 2020. Proof of habitat stamp purchase must be carried while in the field.

Donate an Unused License

A license may be donated to NMDGF for transfer to a youth (17 years of age or younger), a resident veteran or a resident first responder who has been qualified through a nonprofit organization that promotes hunting (page 20).

Information Center Extended Hours

The NMDGF Information Center is open year-round, Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.–5 p.m. (except holidays) to answer your questions and assist with license issues and harvest reporting. Extended hours are March 9–March 13, Monday–Friday from 8 a.m.–6 p.m. and March 16—March 17 from 8 a.m.–8 p.m. The Information Center will close at 4:30 p.m. on March 18.

Private-land Elk Licenses and Fees

See pages 65–68 for private-land elk hunting rules, fees and information.

Pronghorn Draw and Private-land Only Licenses

Successful draw applicants are no longer assigned to a private ranch. All draw licenses are valid on public lands and private land with written permission within the game management unit(s).

Most private-land only pronghorn licenses are now available over the counter. A public-land hunt code must be selected when purchasing this license. These licenses are not valid on any
public land. Written permission from the landowner is required.

Eligibility Rules for Encouragement Elk Hunts

Only eligible resident youth hunters may purchase these hunts for the first 14 days of the sale. Licenses remaining after the first 14 days of the sale will also be available to eligible resident seniors (65 years and older). Nonresidents and resident applicants who were successful for any species (except javelina) are no longer eligible. See page 81 for eligibility information.

Free Hunting and Recreation Maps (page 126)

Free maps of New Mexico big-game hunting units and recreational areas on public lands can be downloaded to your mobile device at:
www.blm.gov/maps/frequently-requested/new-mexico/hunting-maps

Premium Statewide Deer and Elk Hunts

Statewide memorial hunts are available by draw for deer and elk (page 36).

Mexican Gray Wolf: Encounters and Identification

Know where wolf encounters may occur and how to distinguish the Mexican gray wolf from coyotes (pages 117 and 118).

50% Discounts for Resident Military and Veterans

Residents of New Mexico who are active duty military or honorably discharged veterans are eligible for 50% discounts on licenses, permits and stamps. Proof of service may be requested to verify eligibility. See pages 16 and Glossary, pages 120–125 for eligibility requirements and details.

Online Hunter Education Course (Residents only)

New Mexico residents 11 years of age or older can take New Mexico hunter education online (page 18).

Contact Land Management Agencies Before Hunting

Prescribed burns and/or other activities that could affect hunting may be conducted by land management agencies during hunting seasons (visit: nmfireinfo.com). NMDGF recommends contacting the appropriate management agency prior to your hunt for information on activities that may affect access or animal behavior in your hunting area. For contact information, please see Federal Lands (pages 38–40).

Draw Carcass Tags by Mail

Successful draw applicants who did not choose the E-Tag option will receive the license/tag(s) via U.S. Postal Service in late-May or early-June.

Over the Counter (OTC) Licenses for Some Species Available July 1

OTC licenses for javelina, fall turkey, private-land deer, private-land pronghorn, private-land Barbary sheep, secondary management zone private-land elk, and federal duck stamps will be available beginning July 1.

Bear and Turkey Draw Permits

Bear and/or turkey draw permits cannot be printed until all appropriate licenses have been purchased.

Legal Shooting Hours

Legal shooting hours for big game, furbearers and turkey are from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset, unless otherwise noted.

 

 

Reference (2020-21 NM Hunting Rules & Info pg. 2-5)

 

Big Game deadline approaching and events across the state are postponed to protect public health

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact, Tristanna Bickford: (505) 476-8027 tristanna.bickford@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, MARCH 12, 2020: Big Game deadline approaching and events across the state are postponed to protect public health SANTA FE – Following the New Mexico Department of Health’s public health order regarding mass gatherings and in an effort to prevent transmission of COVID-19 (novel coronavirus), several events in March and April have been postponed. However, the March 18, 2020 deadline to apply for big game hunts in New Mexico is still in place. The Department would like to remind hunters of the upcoming 5 pm. March 18 deadline to apply for the big game draw. Apply now at https://onlinesales.wildlife.state.nm.us/. All nonessential Department employees are working from home; however, a limited number of essential employees will be answering draw related questions from: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. March [...]

Furbearer rule changes topic of public meetings

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact, Tristanna Bickford: (505) 476-8027 tristanna.bickford@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, OCT. 1, 2019: Furbearer rule changes topic of public meetings SANTA FE - The Department of Game and Fish is seeking public comment on proposed revisions to the furbearer rule. To gather public comments, four public meetings will be conducted: Raton: 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Oct. 22 at the Department of Game and Fish office, 215 York Canyon Rd, Raton. Roswell: 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Oct. 23 at the Department of Game and Fish office, 1615 West College Boulevard, Roswell. Las Cruces: 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Oct. 24 at the Department of Game and Fish office, 2715 Northrise Drive, Las Cruces. Albuquerque: 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Oct. 30 at the Department of Game and Fish office, 7816 Alamo Rd NW, Albuquerque. The proposals [...]

Hunter attacked by bear near Cliff

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact, Tristanna Bickford: (505) 476-8027 tristanna.bickford@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, AUGUST 30, 2019: Hunter attacked by bear near Cliff Cliff – New Mexico Department of Game and Fish conservation officers have completed the investigation of a black bear attack that occurred near Cliff in southwestern New Mexico on Thursday, Aug. 29. The 63 year old licensed guide, was injured when approaching a bear that had been shot by a member of the hunting party. The individual returned to his truck unassisted and drove himself to Gila Regional Medical Center where he was treated for multiple bite wounds to both arms and legs, administered antibiotics and released. "We are thankful the individual was not hurt worse," said Department Director Mike Sloane. "We caution all hunters, anglers and outdoor enthusiasts to always be careful around bears, especially if you [...]

Deadline to apply for sandhill crane and pheasant hunts is fast approaching

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact, Tristanna Bickford: (505) 476-8027 tristanna.bickford@state.nm.us FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, AUGUST 19, 2019: Deadline to apply for sandhill crane and pheasant hunts is fast approaching SANTA FE – The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is still accepting applications for special sandhill crane and pheasant permits. The application deadline is at 5 p.m., Wednesday, Aug. 21. Applications can be made using the Department's Online Licensing System or over the telephone with the Department’s information center, 1-888-248-6866. Information about pheasant and sandhill crane draw hunts is available in the Department’s 2019-20 Small Game Hunting Rules and Information Booklet. Successful applicants must have a game hunting license and applicable stamp(s) in addition to their draw permit. Successful sandhill crane applicants also must have a Harvest Information Program (HIP) number. ###

Bear and cougar rule changes topic of public meetings

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish Public contact, Information Center: (888) 248-6866 Media contact, Tristanna Bickford: (505) 476-8027 tristanna.bickford@state.nm.us Bear and cougar rule changes topic of public meetings SANTA FE –The Department of Game and Fish is seeking public comment on proposed revisions to the bear and cougar rule. To gather public comments, four public meetings will be conducted: Raton: 6:00 to 7:30 p.m. August 7 at the Department of Game and Fish office, 215 York Canyon Road Albuquerque: 6:00 to 7:30 p.m. August 13 at the Department of Game and Fish office, 7816 Alamo Road, NW Las Cruces: 6:00 to 7:30 p.m. August 15 at the Department of Game and Fish office, 2715 Northrise Drive Roswell: 6:00 to 7:30 p.m. August 16 at the Department of Game and Fish office, 1615 West College Boulevard The proposals will be available on the Department’s website in late July, prior to [...]

Load More Posts