Legal and Safety Advisories
Costilla Reservoir, Costilla Creek, Casias Creek, and other tributaries (including reaches below fish migration barriers) upstream of the reservoir. Oct. 17, 2016, 8:00 am to Oct. 28, 2016, 8:00 pm
Be Aware of What’s Legal and What Isn’t
Laws of the State of New Mexico make illegal: polluting streams, lakes, banks and other waters; leaving unattended or improperly handling fire; discarding refuse on public or private land without permission; and reckless handling of firearms or hunting while intoxicated.
Furthermore, it is illegal to . . .
• Fish, hunt or trap on private land without possessing valid written permission from the landowner. See Criminal Trespass.
• Fish without a license in your possession if 12 years of age or older. Need a license? Click Here to buy one online.
• Use a license that has been issued to another person.
• Fish with more than one pole without a Second Rod Validation if 12 years of age or older.
• Release baitfish into fishing waters.
• Sell, offer for sale, or purchase game fish or parts taken in New Mexico.
• Possess game fish without a valid license, donation certificate (see below), or other evidence the fish were legally taken.
• Stock fish or fish eggs in any waters without a permit from the NMDGF. (See special use permits).
• Import live fish or fish eggs into New Mexico without a permit from NMDGF. (See special use permits).
• Take fish or other animals that are protected by law as endangered or threatened species. (See Fish Conservation).
• Take game fish by net, seine, trap, grappling or other means not permitted by regulations.
• Use mechanical or electrical devices capable of catching or killing game fish, except as permitted by regulation.
• Take game fish by snagging, except kokanee salmon during Special Kokanee Snagging Season.
• Fish in any Class A lake without possessing written consent from the owner.
• Fish with more than two flies on a single line when fishing the Special Trout Water of the San Juan River (see New Mexico Fishing Maps).
For further information, complete New Mexico hunting and fishing laws are available online at: http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac/_title19/title19.htmDonation Certificate Also Remember . . .
• All game fish taken other than by angling, bowfishing or spearfishing must be returned immediately to the water where taken.
• It is the angler’s responsibility to return and release all endangered species of fish immediately to the water where taken.