Fee Discounts & Certain Exceptions

Click the tab headings below to learn more (and download forms) for special discounts (military, seniors, and disability) as well as certain exceptions to Fishing License Requirements & Fees referenced in the 2022-23 New Mexico Fishing Rules and Info booklet.

Reference (2022-23 NM Fishing Rules & Info, p. 3-5) /  (2022-23 NM Pesca Reglas e Información)

See also Fishing License Requirements & Fees.

Licencias y permisos de pesca (01-05-2020)

Handicapped Fishing Licenses

Handicapped Fishing Licenses are available to New Mexico residents with a permanent disability in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Applicants must have one or more disabilities that substantially limit major life activities. Handicapped fishing licenses require a Habitat Stamp, if applicable, and Habitat Management & Access Validation.

Disabled Veterans Game-hunting & Fishing Licenses

Residents who are disabled veterans of the armed services, but do not meet the 100%-disabled qualification, are eligible for a $10 Game-hunting & Fishing License. Disabled Veteran Game-hunting & Fishing Licenses are available online: www.onlinesales.wildlife.state.nm.us, at local vendors and NMDGF offices and by telephone. A Habitat Management & Access Validation and Habitat Stamp, if applicable (page 3), are required with the Disabled Veteran Game-hunting & Fishing License.

Disabled Veteran Card Application (Updated 3-3-2022)

Solicitud para recibir una tarjeta de veterano discapacitado residente de por vida

Free Licenses for 100% Disabled Veteran New Mexico Residents

New Mexico residents who are 100% disabled veterans of the armed services are eligible for a free lifetime Game-hunting & Fishing License. Disabled veterans may apply to NMDGF for a Disabled Veteran card, which allows the holder to fish, hunt small game and obtain a free deer hunting license. Card holders do not need to buy or possess a Habitat Stamp when fishing or hunting small game or deer. However, if hunting turkey or other big-game species, the Habitat Stamp is required.

Las licencias para pescadores con discapacidad

Las licencias para pescadores con discapacidad están disponibles para los residentes de Nuevo México con una discapacidad permanente de acuerdo con la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidad. Los solicitantes deben tener una o más discapacidades que limiten sustancialmente las actividades importantes de la vida. Las licencias para pescadores con discapacidad requieren un sello de hábitat, si corresponde, y una validación de manejo de hábitat y acceso.

Licencia de cacería y pesca deportivas para veteranos discapacitados

Los residentes que sean veteranos discapacitados de las Fuerzas Armadas, pero que no cumplan con la calificación del 100% de discapacidad, son elegibles para una licencia de caza y pesca deportivas de $10. Las licencias de cacería y pesca deportivas para veteranos discapacitados están disponibles en línea: www.onlinesales.wildlife.state.nm.us, con proveedores locales y las oficinas del NMDGF y por teléfono. Se requiere una validación de manejo de hábitat y acceso y un sello de hábitat, si corresponde (página 3), con la licencia de cacería y pesca deportivas para veteranos discapacitados.

Disabled Veteran Card Application (Updated 3-3-2022)

Solicitud para recibir una tarjeta de veterano discapacitado residente de por vida

Licencias gratuitas para veteranos con 100 % de discapacidad residentes de Nuevo México

Los residentes de Nuevo México con sean veteranos con 100 % de discapacidad de las Fuerzas Armadas son elegibles para obtener una licencia de caza y pesca deportivas gratuita de por vida. Los veteranos discapacitados pueden solicitar al NMDGF una tarjeta de veterano discapacitado, que permite al titular pescar, cazar animales de caza menor y obtener una licencia de caza de venados gratuita. Los titulares de las tarjetas no necesitan comprar o poseer un sello de hábitat cuando pescan o cazan animales de caza menor o venados. Sin embargo, si se caza pavo u otras especies de caza mayor, se requiere el sello de hábitat.

50% Discount for Resident Active Military and Veterans

50% discounts on all licenses, permits and stamps are available to New Mexico residents who are active duty military or veterans. The discount may be claimed by applying for or purchasing any license, permit or stamp online, by telephone or at any license vendor. Residents claiming this discount must be able to provide proof of active duty military or veteran status upon request. Discount does not apply to: license vendor fees or the Resident Disabled Veteran Game-hunting & Fishing license. For specific eligibility requirements, see Glossary, pages 44–46 or visit www.wildlife.state.nm.us.

Active Duty Military (N.M. Resident): Current active duty in the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps or Coast Guard for a minimum period of 90 days. Members of the National Guard or Military Reserve Component and commissioned officers of the U.S. Public Health Service or National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration who have completed a minimum of six years of continuous honorable service.

Veteran (N.M. Resident): New Mexico resident veteran with a minimum of 90 days active duty service in the U.S. Military, or six continuous years in the National Guard, Military Reserve Component, or U.S. Public Health Service or National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Veterans must have been honorably discharged from military service.

Reference (2022-23 NM Fishing Rules & Info p. 44-46)

Free Licenses for 100% Disabled Veteran New Mexico Residents

New Mexico residents who are 100% disabled veterans of the armed services are eligible for a free lifetime Game-hunting & Fishing License. Disabled veterans may apply to NMDGF for a Disabled Veteran card, which allows the holder to fish, hunt small game and obtain a free deer hunting license. Card holders do not need to buy or possess a Habitat Stamp when fishing or hunting small game or deer. However, if hunting turkey or other big-game species, the Habitat Stamp is required.

Disabled Veterans Game-hunting & Fishing Licenses

Residents who are disabled veterans of the armed services, but do not meet the 100%-disabled qualification, are eligible for a $10 Game-hunting & Fishing License. Disabled Veteran Game-hunting & Fishing Licenses are available online: www.onlinesales.wildlife.state.nm.us, at local vendors and NMDGF offices and by telephone. A Habitat Management & Access Validation and Habitat Stamp, if applicable (page 3), are required with the Disabled Veteran Game-hunting & Fishing License.

Military Rehabilitation Fishing License

Members or veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces in rehabilitation programs that include the learning and practice of fishing skills are eligible for free fishing licenses. The rehabilitation program must be sponsored by the federal government or a nonprofit organization authorized by the federal government and it must be under the direction of a military or federal Veteran’s Administration rehabilitation center. The Habitat Management & Access Validation and the Habitat Stamp are not required.

50% de descuento para militares activos y veteranos residentes

Hay descuentos disponibles del 50% en todas las licencias, permisos y sellos para los residentes de Nuevo México que sean militares en servicio activo o veteranos. El descuento puede obtenerse si se solicita o compra cualquier licencia, permiso o sello en línea, por teléfono o con cualquier proveedor de licencias. Los residentes que soliciten este descuento deben poder proporcionar comprobante de militar en servicio activo o de condición de veterano cuando se les solicite. El descuento no se aplica a: las tarifas de proveedores de licencias o a la licencia de cacería y pesca deportivas para veteranos discapacitados residentes. Para conocer los requisitos de elegibilidad específicos, consulte el Glosario, páginas 44 a 46, o visite www.wildlife.state.nm.us.

Militar en servicio activo (residente de N. M.): servicio activo actual en el Ejército, la Marina, la Fuerza Aérea, el Cuerpo de Marines o la Guardia Costera durante un periodo mínimo de 90 días. Miembros de la Guardia Nacional o del Componente de la Reserva Militar y oficiales comisionados del Servicio de Salud Pública de EE. UU. o de la Administración Nacional Oceánica y Atmosférica que hayan completado un mínimo de seis años de servicio honorable continuo.

Militares de EE. UU. (residente de N. M.): Ejército, Marina, Cuerpo de Marines, Fuerza Aérea, Guardia Costera o sus Componentes de Reserva, Guardia Nacional del Ejército, Guardia Nacional de la Fuerza Aérea y miembros comisionados del Servicio de Salud Pública de EE. UU. y la Administración Nacional Oceánica y Atmosférica.

(2022-23 NM Pesca Reglas e Información. p. 44)

Licencias gratuitas para veteranos con 100 % de discapacidad residentes de Nuevo México

Los residentes de Nuevo México con sean veteranos con 100 % de discapacidad de las Fuerzas Armadas son elegibles para obtener una licencia de caza y pesca deportivas gratuita de por vida. Los veteranos discapacitados pueden solicitar al NMDGF una tarjeta de veterano discapacitado, que permite al titular pescar, cazar animales de caza menor y obtener una licencia de caza de venados gratuita. Los titulares de las tarjetas no necesitan comprar o poseer un sello de hábitat cuando pescan o cazan animales de caza menor o venados. Sin embargo, si se caza pavo u otras especies de caza mayor, se requiere el sello de hábitat.

Licencia de cacería y pesca deportivas para veteranos discapacitados

Los residentes que sean veteranos discapacitados de las Fuerzas Armadas, pero que no cumplan con la calificación del 100% de discapacidad, son elegibles para una licencia de caza y pesca deportivas de $10. Las licencias de cacería y pesca deportivas para veteranos discapacitados están disponibles en línea: www.onlinesales.wildlife.state.nm.us, con proveedores locales y las oficinas del NMDGF y por teléfono. Se requiere una validación de manejo de hábitat y acceso y un sello de hábitat, si corresponde (página 3), con la licencia de cacería y pesca deportivas para veteranos discapacitados.

Licencia de pesca para militares en rehabilitación

Los miembros o veteranos de las Fuerzas Armadas de EE. UU. en programas de rehabilitación que incluyen el aprendizaje y la práctica de habilidades de pesca son elegibles para obtener licencias de pesca gratuita. El programa de rehabilitación debe estar patrocinado por el gobierno federal o una organización sin fines de lucro autorizada por el gobierno federal y debe estar bajo la dirección de un centro de rehabilitación militar o federal de la Administración de Veteranos. No se requiere la validación de manejo de hábitat y acceso ni el sello de hábitat.

Licenses and Age

While fishing in New Mexico, anglers 12 years and older must possess a valid New Mexico Fishing License or Game-hunting & Fishing License. (Need a license? Click Here to buy one online.) Licenses are valid April 1 through March 31 of the following year. A New Mexico Fishing License is not required on tribal reservations and private Class-A lakes.

Licenses are not required for resident and nonresident anglers 11 years of age or younger..

Junior Fishing Licenses are available to resident and nonresident anglers 12–17 years of age.

Senior Fishing Licenses are available to New Mexico resident anglers 65–69 years of age.

Free Fishing Licenses for New Mexico residents 70 years and older are available online, by phone and at license vendors and all NMDGF offices. Free fishing licenses are not available to nonresidents. Free licenses for 100%-disabled resident veterans (page 4) are available by application through the NMDGF Headquarters in Santa Fe, NM (page iv). Free fishing licenses do not require a Habitat Stamp, Habitat Management & Access Validation or a Second Rod Validation.

Mientras pescan en Nuevo México, los pescadores de caña de 12 años o más deben poseer una licencia de pesca o una licencia de caza y pesca deportivas válida de Nuevo México. Las licencias son válidas del 1 de abril al 31 de marzo del año siguiente. No se requiere una licencia de pesca de Nuevo México para las reservas tribales y los lagos de clase A.

No se requieren licencias para los pescadores de caña residentes y no residentes de 11 años de edad o menos.

Las licencias de pesca júnior están disponibles para los pescadores de caña residentes y no residentes de 12 a 17 años de edad.

Las licencias de pesca sénior están disponibles para los pescadores de caña residentes de Nuevo México de 65 a 69 años de edad.

Las licencias de pesca gratuita para residentes de Nuevo México de 70 años o más están disponibles en línea, por teléfono y con proveedores de licencias y en todas las oficinas del NMDGF. No hay licencias de pesca gratuita disponibles para no residentes. Las licencias gratuitas para veteranos residentes con 100 % de discapacidad (página 4) están disponibles mediante solicitud a través de la sede central del NMDGF en Santa Fe, NM (página iv). Las licencias de pesca gratuita no requieren un sello de hábitat, una validación de manejo de hábitat y acceso o una validación de segunda caña de pescar.

License Refunds and Transfers

New Mexico Fishing Licenses and Game-hunting & Fishing Licenses are nontransferable and nonrefundable. For more information, telephone the NMDGF Information Center toll-free: 1-888-248-6866.

License Information is Public Record

Pursuant to the New Mexico Inspection of Public Records Act, Sections 14-2-1 et. seq. NMSA 1978, all information provided when applying for licenses and permits is public record and must be disclosed to anyone when properly requested except as provided by law.

Parental Responsibility Act

The Parental Responsibility Act requires the New Mexico State Game Commission to revoke the recreational and professional licenses of anyone who does not comply with court-ordered child support obligations. The purpose is to discourage parental neglect of children by suspending hunting and fishing privileges until failure to pay court-ordered child support has been corrected and a $25 reinstatement fee has been paid. For more information, telephone NMDGF Field Operations: (505) 476-8065 or toll-free: 1-888-248-6866.

Reembolsos y transferencias de licencias

Las licencias de pesca y las licencias de caza y pesca deportivas de Nuevo México no son transferibles ni reembolsables. Para obtener más información, llame de manera gratuita al Centro informativo del NMDGF: 1-888-248-6866.

La información sobre licencias es un registro público

Conforme a la Ley de Inspección de Registros Públicos de Nuevo México, secciones 14-2-1 y siguientes de la NMSA de 1978, toda la información proporcionada al momento de solicitar licencias y permisos constituye un registro público y debe divulgarse a cualquier persona cuando se solicite adecuadamente, excepto según lo dispuesto por la ley.

Ley de Responsabilidad de los Padres

La Ley de Responsabilidad de los Padres exige que la Comisión de Caza del Estado de Nuevo México revoque las licencias recreativas y profesionales de toda persona que no cumpla con las obligaciones de manutención de menores ordenadas por un tribunal. El propósito es desalentar la negligencia parental con respecto a los menores mediante la suspensión de los privilegios de caza y pesca hasta que los pagos de manutención de menores ordenados por un tribunal se hayan cubierto y se haya pagado una tarifa de reanudación de $25. Para obtener más información, llame a Operaciones de campo del NMDGF al (505) 476-8065 o al número gratuito: 1-888-248-6866.