Land Usage

Land Usage 2017-09-08T09:35:09+00:00

OHV Land Usage

Click the tab headings below to learn more about Respecting the Land – responsible use of off-highway vehicles on our public lands, including a list of BLM OHV Permitted Areas.

Respect the Lands while Riding OHVs

Much of New Mexico is designated as public land and administered for multiple uses. With hundreds of miles of backcountry trails, off-highway vehicle use is permitted when it is done in a responsible and safe manner. And thanks to the New Mexico’s new Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Act, recreational pursuits have never been safer.

The Department encourages responsible use of our public lands, use that leaves the land healthy and unspoiled, that protects our traditional uses, custom and culture, wildlife and wildlife habitat, and allows for the continued enjoyment of these lands for our families and future generations. Please be considerate of the other users of our lands including ranchers and their livestock, wildlife, equestrians, hikers and mountain bikers. Use the proper equipment that will keep you and your children as safe as possible while riding. Please respect and obey the laws and rules that are put in place to protect New Mexico’s precious land and people, and that help preserve the customs and culture that are deeply woven into our state.

Carlsbad Field Office

Hackberry Lake OHV Areahttps://www.blm.gov/visit/hackberry-lake-ohv-area
The Hackberry Lake Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) Use Area offers over 55,000 acres of rolling stabilized dune lands and cliffs. The area is open for intensive use of motorcycles, sand dune buggies and other OHVs. Trails within the area take advantage of a variety of soils and topographic features, which include many turns and steep hill climbs. Routes go from shallow rocky, loamy soil on low hills to deep alluvial soils with sandy inclusions. The trails travel across small draws and along the bottom of deep arroyos. The area also includes a sand dune complex.

Farmington Field Office

Dunes OHV Areahttps://www.blm.gov/visit/dunes-ohv-area
More than 800 acres of fun is waiting for off-road enthusiasts at the Dunes Vehicle Recreation Area south of Farmington. The off-highway vehicle area contains a wide variety of topography including large sand dunes, steep to gentle hillsides, and sandy arroyo bottoms. Innumerable roads and trails exist in the Dunes, created by nearly 40 years of off-road vehicle use. The diverse landscape attracts a variety of motorized activity and provides riders a place to play, test their endurance, and improve their skills.

Glade Run Recreation Areahttps://www.blm.gov/visit/glade-run
A great spot for the weekend warrior, the Glade Run Recreation Area is comprised of 19,000 acres of sandy arroyos, slick rock and rolling terrain. Vegetation is sparse, primarily consisting of common grasses, rabbitbrush, sagebrush, junipers, and pinyons.

Las Cruces Field Office

Aden Hills OHV Areahttps://www.blm.gov/visit/aden-hills-ohv

Red Sands OHV Areahttps://www.blm.gov/visit/red-sands-ohv-area

Robledo Mountains OHV Trail Systemhttps://www.blm.gov/visit/robledo-mountains-ohv-trail-system

Rio Puerco Field Office (Albuquerque)

El Malpais NCAhttps://www.blm.gov/visit/el-malpais-nca

San Ysidro Trials Area (Trials motorcycles only)https://www.blm.gov/visit/san-ysidro-trials-area

Roswell Field Office

Haystack Mountain OHV Areahttps://www.blm.gov/visit/haystack-mountain-ohv-area

Mescalero Sands North Dune OHV Areahttps://www.blm.gov/visit/mescalero-sands-north-dune-ohv-area

Socorro Field Office

Johnson (Gordy’s) Hillhttps://www.blm.gov/visit/johnson-gordys-hill-ohv-area

Taos Field Office

Copper Hill (trials motorcycles only)

Sombrillo/Arroyo Seco


Buckman/West Santa Fe


El Palacio/La Puebla