Resident & Non-Resident Requirements
Click the tab headings below to learn more about resident and non-resident OHV registration requirements in New Mexico.
New Mexico residents are required to register their OHV at any Motor Vehicle Division Field Office.
Contact: New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).
Phone: (505) 827-4636 | Toll-free: (888) 683-4636
New Mexico requires state residents to have a mandatory registration for all OHVs used on public lands, and the display of a validation decal.
Registration is required for OHVs prior to using on any public lands in New Mexico and must be displayed.
(OHVs must be renewed every two years – if used on public lands)
Non-resident permits are required for OHVs prior to using on any public lands in New Mexico and must be displayed. If a non-resident is from a State (see list below) that has not established OHV registration or a user fee, then the non-resident must purchase New Mexico ‘s Off-Highway User permit.***
All OHV riders from out of state require a permit on public lands and display a validation decal. Nonresident permits can only be purchased online with a Visa or Mastercard.
*Two-year permit must be renewed every two years from the date of initial registration.
* Non-residents who have proof of a valid OHV registration, user fee or similar fee, may not need to purchase the New Mexico Permit. Please check the Fee Exceptions tab for a listing of those states.
Contact: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish or any New Mexico Department of Game and Fish office.
Phone: (505) 476-8000
Web site: www.B4uRide.com or www.wildlife.state.nm.us
Non-Resident Fee Exceptions
*** With the passage of SB 379, the Off-Highway Motor Vehicle (OHV) law changed the requirements of non-residents who need to purchase a non-resident permit. The new law now recognizes a non-resident operating an OHV is in compliance with New Mexico if that person: is currently in compliance with another state’s off-highway vehicle registration, user fee or similar law or rule demonstrated by certificate of registration, permit or similar evidence…(66-3-1004.C NMSA 1978).
A non-resident with an OHV from one of these states must purchase either the 2 year non-registered permit sticker for $48.00 or the 90 day permit sticker for $18.00 prior to operate on New Mexico’s public lands.
A non-resident from the remaining states need not purchase New Mexico ‘s permit as long as they can provide valid proof that they have a current registration, user fee or something similar for their off-highway vehicle. If a person cannot provide valid proof of possessing such a document then they must purchase the 2 year non-resident permit sticker or the 90 day permit sticker. It is a misdemeanor for any person (even a juvenile) to fail to possess the proper permit or registration for an off-higway vehicle and display the required decal on their OHV. Persons in violation of this provision can receive a fine of $60.00 or more and may not ride on public lands.
OHV Registration for Military Members
A member of the U.S. Armed Forces who is assigned permanently to a military installation located within New Mexico has 30 days to obtain a Resident OHV permit from the Motor Vehicle Division of New Mexico.
If temporarily assigned and New Mexico residency will not be established a 2-year or 90-day nonresident permit can be purchased if no other valid registration permit is in place from another state.
In addition to your valid registration, a U.S. Forest Service approved spark arrestor is required to ride on public land.
The muffler on your off-highway vehicle should have a stamp showing U.S. Forest Service approval as shown here.